Hello world!

Welcome to the blog of an unintended early retiree. At 56, I have learned the world thinks it can live without a woman of my years input. Retiring to handle the stress of care giving which is the role of many people in my age group.   I’ve had a hard time adjusting to the idea of being a senior citizen.   I’m in my prime.  At least I can go the restroom whenever I want.

I’m not ungrateful.   I’m still the first person in my family to go to college.   Jobs were something to be appreciated and the American work ethic still drives me.   Teaching paid as much in development as a person as monetarily. I had planned to teach at least 40 years.   After 30 years, one year was sick leave, I took my first retirement.   Restless, I took another job as a science coordinator for a non-profit.   Similar to teaching but less lucrative, I quit for a myriad of reasons.  After two years and a half hearted job search, I have accepted my retirement.  Cash-flow and time are always short.

My initial desire to write all whirled around the pursuit of money.    I’m one of those lucky souls who know how to pick professions of little financial pay.    Like teaching, writing offers its rewards.   I never quite “got”  Flannery O’Conner.    While writing about the polarization we have in the United States over politics, I “got” Flannery O’Conner.   Her stories are a reminder of our humanity and the unconditional grace of a patient G_d.  Flannery O’Conner points out the brutal ignorance in us all.

So much is made up about the South.   Southerners are the worst offenders.   Much of what I know about the South I read in the Atlanta Journal and Constitution.   The South shares the burden of shame and stigma of slavery and racism more than the rest of the country.   Flannery O’Conner knew we are all flawed.

1 comment
  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

